Editorial Principles

The primary purpose of Dallas Medieval Texts and Translations is to render medieval Latin texts accessible in authoritative modern English translations; text and translation are presented in a facing-page format which is meant to ensure that the translation does not displace the original Latin. This format can be useful for a variety of readers, from those only beginning to learn medieval Latin to more seasoned scholars, who may value the convenience of a translation that allows them quick access to a text with whose particular terminology they may not be familiar.

The English translations are established either on the basis of existing good critical editions (which the series will reprint whenever possible) or, when necessary, on the basis of new editions. These will usually be semi-critical, with an apparatus limited to important variants. Each volume also comprises scholarly introductions, notes, and annotated bibliographies.

Although Dallas Medieval Texts and Translations is a long-term project which will eventually comprise a large number of volumes (hundreds, perhaps), no series devoted to the publication of medieval Latin texts can aim to be exhaustive. Thus, the Dallas series does not publish works that are already available in reliable English translations. It focuses on texts whose publication promises to make a scholarly contribution to a better, deeper understanding of medieval thought and culture. The series welcomes short texts, but is also open to considering complex multi-volume projects.

The Dallas Medieval Texts and Translations series does not publish anthology-type selections of texts.

Board Members

Editors: Kelly Gibson, University of Dallas & Philipp W. Rosemann, National University of Ireland (Maynooth)

The editors are assisted by an editorial board composed of medievalists at the University of Dallas and at Southern Methodist University. The members of the editorial board are:

  • Denis M. Farkasfalvy, O.Cist. (University of Dallas)
  • Donald J. Kagay (University of Dallas)
  • Theresa Kenney (University of Dallas)
  • James J. Lehrberger, O.Cist. (University of Dallas)
  • John R. Sommerfeldt (University of Dallas)
  • Francis R. Swietek (University of Dallas)
  • Bonnie Wheeler (Southern Methodist University)

Board of Editorial Advisers

The editorial board takes its decisions on the development of the series and on individual projects in light of advice received from members of an international board of editorial advisers, which includes medievalists representing the major fields of medieval studies. The following scholars have joined the board of editorial advisers:

  • Charles S. F. Burnett (Warburg Institute, London)
  • Marcia L. Colish (Yale University)
  • Thérèse-Anne Druart (Catholic University of America)
  • Kent Emery, Jr. (University of Notre Dame)
  • Hugh Bernard Feiss, O.S.B. (Monastery of the Ascension)
  • Bernard McGinn (University of Chicago)
  • James McEvoy (†)
  • James J. Murphy (University of California, Davis)
  • John T. Noonan, Jr. (U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, San Francisco)
  • Edward M. Peters (University of Pennsylvania)
  • Carlos Steel (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven)
  • Baudouin van den Abeele (Université catholique de Louvain)
  • Nancy van Deusen (Claremont Graduate University)